The boxing legend is known to be mad about the Toffees and his XI will only have increased his popularity among the Everton faithful.

Bellew chose to omit the four Liverpool stars included in the PFA selection.

Instead he picked Crystal Palace right-back Aaron Wan-Bissaka and Everton left-back Lucas Digne in his line-up.

And Tottenham defender Toby Alderweireld replaced Liverpool ace Virgil van Dijk.

Spurs forward Heung-Min Son also came in for Sadio Mane.

Predictably Bellew received quite a backlash on social media but he took it in good spirits.

He tweeted: “Can’t believe how much hate I’m receiving on my timeline?

“I only picked who I thought were the best players I’ve watched this season.

“I can’t see what I have done to offend so many?”

Bellew won 30 of his 34 professional boxing bouts before retiring.

The other player to make way was Manchester United midfielder Paul Pogba.

He was replaced by Chelsea and Belgium superstar Eden Hazard.

PFA Team of the Year: Ederson, Alexander-Arnold, Van Dijk, Laporte, Robertson, Fernandinho, Bernardo Silva, Pogba, Sterling, Mane, Aguero

Bellew’s Team of the Year: Ederson, Wan-Bissaka, Alderweireld, Laporte, Digne, Fernandinho, Bernardo Silva, Hazard, Sterling, Son, Aguero

Everton are in action tonight when they take on Burnley in the Premier League (8pm).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *